Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Xpresso Presents~Keary Taylor's Depths of Lake Book Blitz & Giveaway!

Thanks for stopping by today. I'm hosting Keary Taylor's Depths of Lake Book Blitz & Giveaway presented by Xpresso Book Tours.

An interview with Keary:

Tell us a little bit about The McCain Saga.
This is a family saga about three brothers and one sister.  The McCains all have big personalities and crazy love stories.  And they always have each others backs.  Each book is told from a different woman’s point of view, Kaylee Ray, Sage McCain, Riley James, and Whitney Ford. 

Describe DEPTHS OF LAKE in five words.

Each of the McCain books is told from a different characters point of view.  Which of them to you relate to the most?
There’s certainly a little piece of me in each and every one of them.  I’d say I have Kaylee’s positive outlook on life, Sage’s ambition, Riley’s independence, and Whitney’s creativity.  But the one I relate to the MOST is probably Sage.  We both have a bit too much pride and are always reaching for something more.

Writing adult contemporary romance is a new thing for you.  What made you decide to make the jump to that genre?
I was actually working on a YA paranormal when I started feeling a bit overwhelmed and burned out.  I’d just finished my sci-fi series in one year, and I needed something different.  I needed something that was just FUN to write.  So I sat down and started on MOMENTS OF JULIAN.  It wrote it exactly how I wanted to write it with no readers in mind.  It was therapy for me.  And then I couldn’t stop thinking about her brothers.   And that’s how The McCain Saga came to be!

So, what else have you written?
I have my most popular series, a NA paranormal romance: the Fall of Angels trilogy (BRANDED, FORSAKEN, VINDICATED, and novelette, AFTERLIFE).  And then my NA post-apocalyptic romance: The Eden Trilogy (THE BANE, THE HUMAN, THE EVE, shorts THE RAID and THE ASHES).  And then I have a YA contemporary standalone, WHAT I DIDN’T SAY.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
Riley James is a country girl through and through.  Both for the fact that she runs a ranch and trains horses, and she’s the daughter of a career Marine.  She loves America, and was engaged to a Marine.  And then he died.  So when Lake, another soldier, comes into her life, she’s a bit broken.  But she’s one of the strongest women you’ll meet.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Title: Depths of Lake
Author: Keary Taylor
Series: The McCain Saga #3
Publication date: October 14th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Romance

It was another day at the ranch, training horses and working fifteen hour days. And then the last person I ever expected showed up. Lake McCain: a Marine, tall, ripped—and the best friend of my dead fiancĂ©. Cal died to save Lake, and now Lake claims that he carries a debt to me that he can never repay.

I wanted to brush him off. But then my mom, the manager of the ranch, went and hired him. We spend hours working together with the horses. Lake doesn’t say much. He’s layered and dark and he tries to seem shallow and simple. But he isn’t. There are things under his surface that matter. He works, quiet and strong, and never once lets me down.

Until he confesses that he may be falling in love with me. I can’t deny that there is something between us. But a relationship? I just can’t. I’ve used up all my chances at love. My past relationships have ended in death or disaster, and now I have to live with all of that.

I’m Riley James, and there are depths to Lake—depths to myself—that I don’t think I’ll ever fully understand.

The McCain Saga:
PLAYING IT KALE (January 20, 2014)

Buy Links:

Keary Taylor grew up along the foothills of the Rocky Mountains where she started creating imaginary worlds and daring characters who always fell in love. She now resides on a tiny island in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and their two young children. She continues to have an overactive imagination that frequently keeps her up at night. She is the author of THE EDEN TRILOGY, the FALL OF ANGELS trilogy, and WHAT I DIDN'T SAY. To learn more about Keary and her writing process, please visit

Author links:

Blitz-wide giveaway (INTL)
$25 Amazon gift card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Great interview, I always love getting into the heads of authors :) Thanks for sharing!!